Defining Cloud Computing

by Jim Smith on November 8, 2011 · 2 comments

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), an arm of the US Department of Commerce, published a NIST Definition of Cloud Computing.

Cloud computing.
Creative Commons License photo credit: Miran Rijavec

The NIST definition of cloud computing can be broken down into 3 facets: the essential characteristics, the service models and the deployment models.

Essential characteristics:
• On-demand service
• Broad network access
• Pooling of resource
• Elasticity
• Measured service

Service models
• Software as a service (SaaS)
• Platform as a service (PaaS)
• Infrastructure as a service (IaaS)

Deployment models
• Private cloud
• Community cloud
• Public cloud
• Hybrid cloud

The NIST definition does not include a pricing model for cloud computing services since this has nothing to do with the nature of the service. The pricing model may be subscription pricing, a perpetual license, or some other form of pricing.

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

Extreme John November 9, 2011 at 9:45 am

Excellent post. Cloud computing is definitely booming nowadays, and I’m a big fan especially because I use it for my business. Technology like this is definitely the way of the future.


Jim Smith Jim Smith November 9, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Glad you’re implementing a cloud strategy. You won’t regret the decision. Thanks for the nice comment.


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: